Ascend FS10 Reviews - Ascend | Buyers' Guide (2022)

5

Very stable, fast doesn’t…

Submitted by: paddler820948 on 7/13/2020

Very stable, fast doesn’t drift very much, an all around good kayak

4

not going to stay dry…

Submitted by: guest-paddler on 7/15/2019

not going to stay dry paddling the river water washes over and into the cockpit but it is very stable . plenty of room for gear seat is very comfortable for long days fishing

5

At 63 yrs old I have used a…

Submitted by: guest-paddler on 3/27/2019

At 63 yrs old I have used a variety of boats: canoes/v bottom/Jon etc. The ascend fs10 is a lot of boat for the price. I have set limb lines and trot lines using the kayak. No problems after 3 years of use. This kayak fits people under 6 feet tall. I am 5'8" fits comfortable.

1

Just beware, the seat will…

Submitted by: paddler467597 on 10/2/2018

Just beware, the seat will rust out within a year. Poor quality when making this seat. they will not stand behind their seat for replacement. Warranty doesn't cover corrosion. Even the hardware in the kayak is rusting. replacement seat are expensive

4

(Video) Why You Should Get A Kayak | Ascend FS10 Review

I'll compare my Ascend FS10 to my Old Town Trip10 Dlx Angler.Pro's:…

Submitted by: Tiltonm on 9/1/2016

I'll compare my Ascend FS10 to my Old Town Trip10 Dlx Angler.

Pro's:
Very Stable Kayak, large cockpit made it easy to get in/out. Seat is extremely comfortable for hours on lake or river. Cockpit dash has plenty of room, dash has two cup holders. Makes a little awkward if a single cup is used since they are connected. Had a Yeti cup full of ice water and a Diet Coke from Mcd last outing. Center holder I used for bait. On the left is a screw in deck plate. I kept my phone there.

My model had the Bass pro spin rod holder on the right. Newer 2016 drops this and adds the accessory rails on both sides ( I would prefer that feature). Two recessed rod Holders behind seat and large open storage in back, with room for crate and bucket. Paddle holder on both sides( wished OldTown had this). For lake fishing I like this Kayak.

Con's:
last trip to lake, I had my son with me in the old town. Fs10 has a low bow, gentle slope up to dash. Middle of the lake on a windy day, waves kicked up. Nothing bad, but waves would wash up the bow into dash, and onto my legs. Water in cup holders and center holder. Phone was safe under dash screw plate. Was able to compare side by side. Waves break on the higher bow of Old Town, son never got wet. Had a river trip with a friend with Perception Angler, similar situation in mild Rapids.

Hull seemed noticeably softer for scratches on my FS10 versus Trip10. I can see a difference despite my trip10 being a bit older and more used. Local river has gravel on some of the stretches.

Conclusion:
if you're wanting a sit in angler Kayak with lots of room for gear, and will be mostly using on lakes, and you want a comfortable all day seat. Get it!
If you might want dual use kayak for river running and fishing, I would suggest looking at other options.

5

I took the fs10 out and had a blast. Good quality…

Submitted by: Robkonowitch on 8/18/2016

I took the fs10 out and had a blast. Good quality at an even better price. Looking at the options, you get a tank of a kayak and don't have to pay top dollar.

3

The ascend FS10 is a very…

Submitted by: paddler237015 on 8/10/2016

The ascend FS10 is a very stable and comfortable kayak it is very good and suitable for fishing it has two fishing rod mounts and a great place to put a fish finder in in the front the only complaint I have is the water congregate at your seat but over all it is a very good yak.

5

I bought the Ascend FS10…

Submitted by: WeltMG on 5/4/2016

(Video) Ascend FS10 First Test Run

I bought the Ascend FS10 Sit-in from Bass Pro in Springfield, MO on 2/28/15 during a nasty blizzard. I couldn't wait for the thaw but, it gave me time to rig the kayak with a fish finder and an anchor system. I've fished the Big Piney, Little Piney, Gasconade, Meramec, and Niangua rivers, Lake of the Ozarks, and several small local lakes and ponds with this kayak with awesome results! The "sit-in" can be somewhat cramped but, I'm the type who loads every type of lure and rod/reel I think I might need for that particular season and after all, it is only a 10 footer. This kayak is very stable and tracks extremely well. Whoever said that this kayak doesn't track well apparently needs to fine tune his paddling technique. All in all, I'm very satisfied with my choice.

5

I use my Trophy 126, for a…

Submitted by: JDD on 4/27/2016

I use my Trophy 126, for a fishing kayak. Dose really good for me. Tracks well, seem fairly fast getting across to the hot water outlet, at the power plant lake I fish at. Have been caught out when the water gets real ruff and I made it back keeping the nose pointed into the white cap waves. So I feel save in it. I do wear my life jacket all the time just in case. I have a 14 foot john boat but never use it sent I got the Future beach trophy 126. It is just to easy to use.

5

I have been paddling for 40…

Submitted by: JDD on 4/27/2016

I have been paddling for 40 or so years and have enjoyed everything from whitewater to touring but I purchased the Ascend FS10 strictly for fishing in the rivers and lakes of western North Carolina.

Normally I would reserve a rating of 10 for a truly special product (or a huge payoff from the manufacturer) neither of which is the case here but this boat ticks the box for every requirement for a light, inexpensive, sit-in fishing kayak so I couldn't find any point deductions.

You can get all the technical data from Bass Pro (http://www.basspro.com/Ascend-FS10-SitIn-Angler-Kayak-Camo/product/14072306364312/) so I'll just hit on the highlights.

First of all it looks good. 'Nuff said there.

Next, it is very stable, you're not going to stand up in it but it is not at all overly tippy. If you don't, as my grandmother would say, "act like an idiot", you'll be fine in most water conditions.

It's light but not flimsy at 56 pounds. I can take it on and off a roof rack easily enough by myself.

It comes set up for fishing with a large open cockpit, three rod holders (two flush mounts behind the cockpit, one rocket launcher type centered forward), a small dry deck plate storage area (listed as "weather proof" I'd still put keys and phone in a real dry bag) and a space behind the cockpit for a tackle box or 5gal bucket.

It tracks well in a current or on flat water, not like a ruddered touring kayak but way better than a lot of rec boats that I've paddled. This is attributable to the hint of a full-length keel it possesses.

It is pretty comfortable with adjustable foot braces and a camp chair style seat that is actually removable for fishing on the bank.

Lastly, at $550 the price is right.

3

(Video) Ascend FS10 Upgrades and Ocean Test

The seat is good and was a…

Submitted by: paddler236601 on 11/25/2015

The seat is good and was a big selling point. The FS10 does not track straight and is not maneuverable. I've done several river trips and one lake fishing day. This thing is a waste of good plastic. A pine log would float a river better. Do not waste your money this boat is a real piece of crap. My friend bought an el cheapo kayak from Dicks ($175) and it's world's better than this garbage.

3

I recently purchased the 2015…

Submitted by: guest-paddler on 8/3/2015

I recently purchased the 2015 Ascend FS10 from Bass Pro and I must say I like my old town vapor 10 much better. They have the same weight capacity but the Ascend sits way lower to the waterline and is nowhere near as stable as the Vapor. The new cockpit leaves a lot to be desired, they could do without the huge dash in it the rod holder is poorly placed, if you have a rod in it, it hits your leg entering and exiting. The only plus is the seat is wonderful which is the only reason I bought it. On shorter trips I will be taking my Vapor as the seat is much better for long trips on the Ascend...

5

I have kayaked many times on…

Submitted by: jsiemins on 7/29/2015

I have kayaked many times on several different kayaks and this one I found to be the best for me. It's stable and cuts a straight line through the water. It's easy to paddle and has plenty of storage. I give it 10 stars!

4

I would have to give the…

Submitted by: brownwallet04 on 9/8/2014

I would have to give the Ascend FS 10 kayak an overall 8; it is a great kayak for any fisherman. the kayak is very versatile it has several rod holders cup holders plenty of storage space and even dry storage space. the only suggestion that I have is that the Sitting area be a little wider for easy access to be able to stand while fishing, for the price it is a great buy and also just an overall great kayak I do recommend the FS 12 But the FS 10 is just as good

5

First I want to say that I…

Submitted by: paddler235473 on 8/29/2014

(Video) Kayak Fishing ideas and Ascend FS10 Review

First I want to say that I have had this boat for going on two years now. I still love it as much as I did the day I bought it. I have no desire to replace it any time soon. It's a little on the heavy side, but but makes up for it by being nearly indestructible and extremely stable...great for landing larger fish if you don't mind putting them in your lap for a minute. You can fit (one at a time) a milk crate, a smallish cooler, a 5gal bucket or a 5lb waterproof dog food container. Used it for a 5 day trip(I pack light) and had a blast. Super stable too. I can stand up and paddle it like an sup.

4

The Ascend FS10 is a great…

Submitted by: paddler235720 on 7/6/2014

The Ascend FS10 is a great kayak. Perfect for fishing lakes but also fun on rivers. well thought out. stable due to the flat bottom.. I have recommended this boat to several of my float trip buddies.

5

Handles great, very stable.…

Submitted by: paddler235643 on 7/2/2014

Handles great, very stable. Easy to fish out of. Love the rear compartment for my cooler. Two extra rear rod holders allow me to bring multiple rods. Room up front for a small tackle box and two drink holders. Side cleats are perfect for my small anchor. Padded seat is very comfortable, and adjustable foot braces make it easy to handle.

4

The FS10 sit in is my first…

Submitted by: guest-paddler on 4/28/2014

The FS10 sit in is my first ever kayak. I researched "fishing" kayaks extensively, and this model is full of value. I fish Lake St. Clair in Michigan, which is very large. The FS10 is stable, even in high winds and 2ft. waves. I've paddled high-flow rivers as well, and the craft handled well in some areas where I would have had problems with a canoe. I like the space - I'm 6' and 240# - and there's still room for my fishing gear. I would recommend a longer paddle, as the beam on this craft is wide. I installed all of my accessory fishing gear - fish finder, gps, tackle storage, 12V battery, wiring, anchor trolley, etc... without drilling the hull and voiding the warranty. I've had it in the water when there was still ice flowing out, no problems. For the price, I didn't find another kayak with the features, durability, versatility, and capability of this model. Even fully geared up, she still can be picked up and loaded into the back of my vehicle. I'm happy with this rig.

4

I have two Old Town Vapors…

Submitted by: guest-paddler on 7/26/2012

I have two Old Town Vapors (which we love) and two Ascend FS10 Angler kayaks ~ and we enjoy each tremendously on lake and (light) river trips ~ but, it is important to note that I have the 2010-2011 Ascend models!!

The Ascend is a bit heavier and has a smaller cockpit opening, but overall is just as comfortable/stable without having to paddle heavily. Tracks well too... It also is a bit more durable it seems. Plenty of leg room on the my models, but... the newer (2012) models are a bit more shallow for leg room, and the the (inside) back of the kayak was cut out to make it lighter.

(Video) Ascend FS10 Angler Kayak 2015 Edition

Overall a good buy for the price, but just make sure your feet/legs will fit under the front of the cockpit.
Recommended!

FAQs

How heavy is a ASCEND fs10 kayak? ›

57 lbs.

Can you stand in ASCEND kayak? ›

Welcome to the refined Ascend® 10T Sit-On-Top Kayak with Enhanced Seating System. Its unique tunnel hull design creates impressive maneuverability and a stable platform for standing or fishing.

Where are ASCEND kayaks manufactured? ›

Ascend kayaks are made in Springfield, Missouri.

Can you stand in the Ascend H10? ›

Ascend H10 Description

The advanced Hybrid Tunnel-style hull improves secondary stability and creates a standing and fishing platform that allows the angler unprecedented standing capability throughout the entire cockpit opening.

Which kayaks are most stable? ›

Pontoon hulls are the most stable kayak hull type and they provide great primary stability. Calm water, sit-on-top recreational kayaks and fishing kayaks use pontoon hulls for their excellent stability. The disadvantage of Pontoon hulls is that they're slow and lack maneuverability.

Can you stand up on a ascend 12t? ›

Stable enough for experienced paddlers to stand in while casting, the Ascend 12T gives you plenty of deck space to operate from.

Is ascend a Bass Pro brand? ›

Bass Pro Shops brands include: Johnny Morris, Bob Timberlake, Natural Reflections, RedHead, White River Fly Shop, Walleye Angler, XPS, Bass Pro Shops, Worldwide Sportsman, Offshore Angler, Prowler trolling motors and Ascend.

What kind of plastic are ascend kayaks made of? ›

The material that many plastic canoes and kayaks are made of is called high-density polyethylene (HDPE), and it is an extremely difficult material to repair.

What is the warranty on Ascend kayaks? ›

About ASCEND Kayaks

We stand proudly behind our Missouri-made kayaks with a 3-year warranty.

What is the best material for a kayak? ›

Aramid Composites (Kevlar)

Kevlar is slightly stronger than Carbon Fiber (depending on the grade of Aramid and binding agent used). Kevlar is used for top end kayak construction. It is the strongest construction material of the three listed here.

What is a hybrid kayak? ›

What is a hybrid kayak? A hybrid kayak is usually a recreational design which combines elements of multiple types of paddle crafts. For example, hybrid kayak can describe a sit-on-top kayak that can also be used as a standup paddleboard, or a sit-inside kayak with an open top that can also be paddled like a canoe.

Is it OK to leave kayak outside? ›

Where to store your kayak: Keeping it indoors offers the best protection, but that's not always practical. Outdoors is suitable, so long as the boat is protected from sun and weather.

Should kayaks be stored upside down? ›

Upside down is the smartest choice to avoid dents. On its side: Again, when storing a kayak on storage bars, be careful which way you orient it. If you rest the kayak on its side, you risk denting the side that's laying on the bars. Remember that storing the kayak upside down is your best option.

Does cold weather hurt kayaks? ›

Winter can wreak havoc on a kayak. Cold temperatures and more moisture can combine to create a recipe for damage to your kayaks that can drastically reduce their lifespan. In fact, properly storing your kayak when it's not in use is important in any season.

How wide is Ascend 12t? ›

Length: 12′ (3.66 m) Width: 31″ (78.74 cm) Weight: 77 lbs (34.93 kg)

How wide is Ascend h12? ›

Length: 12'. Width: 32". Weight: 76 lbs. Maximum Weight Capacity: 450 lbs.

How do you determine kayak paddle length? ›

Paddle length numbers refer to a measurement from the very tip of the blade to the center of the shaft. While you'll sometimes find lengths in inches, the most common measurements are metric. Paddles tend to range from 180 to 260 cm (which is roughly 6 to 8.5 feet).

Rider's 2023 motorcycle buyers guide reviews new and updated street motorcycles, with photos, videos, pricing, first looks, first rides, and road tests.

So far, only a few 2023 models have been announced, mostly adventure bikes, and we’ve had a chance to test several of them.. Organized in alphabetical order by manufacturer, our guide includes photos, pricing, key update info, and links to first looks and – when available – first rides, road tests, and video reviews of each motorcycle.. The Origin dual-sport (above) and Pulse roadster share key design elements: distinctive LED headlights, large TFT displays, edgy white and gray bodywork, a bright yellow panel covering their battery packs, inverted forks, single-sided swingarms, single-disc brakes front and rear, and solo seats.. The 2023 CFMOTO 800 ADVentura is powered by a liquid-cooled, DOHC, 8-valve 799cc parallel-Twin borrowed from the previous-generation KTM 790 Adventure and makes a claimed 95 hp and 57 lb-ft of torque.. Designed for the track only, the 2023 KTM 450 SMR has a 449.9cc liquid-cooled, SOHC Single putting out a claimed 63 hp, and the engine weighs just 59.5 lb, nearly a pound lighter than the previous model.. In addition to the features riders already love about the KTM 450 SMR ( read our review of the 2021 model here ), the 2023 model includes a redesigned Pankl Racing Systems 5-speed gearbox and a new Quickshift sensor on the shift drum for clutchless upshifts, which can be disabled through the handlebar switch.. Other updates for the 2023 KTM 450 SMR include a revised shock mount, redesigned high-grade aluminum CNC-machined triple clamps offering increased grip surface, altered longitudinal and torsional flex and frame-wall thickness, suspension updates, revised ergonomics, and more.. The KTM 890 Adventure R was introduced two years ago ( read our Road Test Review of the 2021 model here ), and the updated 2023 KTM 890 Adventure R features upgrades that enhance its off-road capabilities and performance.. The 890 Adventure R still has a liquid-cooled 889cc transverse parallel-Twin but now offers new aesthetics, a retuned suspension package, updated ABS, a new Demo mode and 5-inch TFT display, and more rider aides.. The 2023 V-Strom 1050 has a 6-speed gearbox with higher 1st and 6th ratios, an updated throttle-by-wire system, a new ABS control unit, a new CAN (Controller Area Network) wiring system, and a new 32-bit ECM (Engine Control Module).. The new V-Strom 1050 also includes many features previously only available on the XT models, including a 6-axis Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and the Suzuki Intelligent Ride System (SIRS) electronics suite – which includes ride modes, cornering ABS, multimode traction control, cruise control, and braking systems that compensate for hill starts, slope, and load – as well as an up/down quickshifter, a new 5-inch TFT display, a new windscreen, and more.. The 2023 Suzuki V-Strom 1050DE and 1050DE Adventure share the same engine as the 2023 Suzuki V-Strom, as well as the new and updated features of the V-Strom (see above) and will replace the previous V-Strom 1050XT and V-Strom 1050XT Adventure models.. However, the DE models are more geared toward off-road adventures, featuring a 21-inch front wheel with a tube-type rim for maximum durability, a 17-inch tubeless rear wheel, and Dunlop Trailmax Mixtour adventure tires.. They also add a new Gravity (G) traction control option in the Suzuki Intelligent Ride System, the ability to switch off ABS at the rear wheel, their own dedicated chassis geometry and suspension system, a longer swingarm, and other adventure motorcycle-specific offerings.. They’ve shaved 55 pounds off the new 2023 Triumph Tiger 1200 , given it a 147-hp Triple, and equipped it with an all-new chassis and electronics.⁠ Five variants are available: the street-focused GT ($19,100), GT Pro ($21,400), and GT Explorer ($23,100) and the off-road-ready Rally Pro ($22,500) and Rally Explorer ($24,200).⁠

Before you buy, learn how to keep Internet connected devices safe.

Help protect all of your personal devices connected to your home network, not just your laptop or desktop computer, with Norton Core.. With that in mind, here’s a look at some popular connected devices people are buying, plus a glance at the types of data they may collect and share.. Update software and firmware One thing that consumers may overlook about connected devices is that they are computers, connected to the Internet.. After extensive research and development, Symantec has released the innovative Norton Core TM secure Wi-Fi router, which provides a unique solution to help secure today’s smart homes.. NortonLifeLock, the NortonLifeLock Logo, the Checkmark Logo, Norton, LifeLock, and the LockMan Logo are trademarks or registered trademarks of NortonLifeLock Inc. or its affiliates in the United States and other countries.

Learn why the E82 / E88 generation BMW 1 Series (2008-2013) Coupe and Convertible is a great buy right now

The BMW 135i Convertible and BMW 135i Coupe for the first time with BMW inline six cylinder gasoline engine combining TwinPower Turbo, High Precision Injection, Valvetronic and the new seven gear double clutch transmission with sports automatic (01/2010)The BMW 1 Series Coupe and Convertible exhibited a highly dynamic silhouette, with typical RWD proportions and a lot of flame surfacing going on around.. BMW kept the 1 Series Coupe as classic as possible, as power was sent exclusively to the rear-axle wheels, with no xDrive choice available as an option.. Thus, the Convertible came in the following versions:. As you already know, no M variant was offered for the 1 Series Convertible.. Furthermore, the 1 Series was offered with an extensive range of engines, as well as the highly coveted manual transmission.

With the big-screen announcements of CES 2022 in the books, here's what will really matter to TV buyers this year.

But if you want a TV in another room, or your current TV feels like it's getting long in the tooth, its screen is too small or you want better picture quality or a better smart TV system, you might want a new TV.. Depending on how old your current TV is, a new model -- whether one released in the last year or a new TV just announced at CES -- could be a sweet upgrade you'll appreciate every time you watch.. Now playing:Watch this:. First look at LG OLED TVs for 2022: The best TVs get.... New models like the TVs introduced at CES 2022 appear in spring and their prices are highest then.. Sony X95K Mini-LED TV : Last year the Samsung QN90A earned my respect as the best high-end alternative to OLED, but Samsung has yet to announce any specific 2022 QLED models, so this Sony is my pick for now.. QD-OLED: The first Sony and Samsung TVs featuring a new OLED panel by Samsung Display are going to be expensive, and I probably won't recommend most people buy over more-affordable OLEDs like the C2, but I can't wait to see them in person.. Both are still selling their older TVs, including models I still highly recommend like the TCL 6-Series Roku TV and the Vizio MQ7 series .

Removing snow with an ATV can be both fun and effective, as long as you have the right tool. For many homeowners, it is the preferred alternative for clearing out their driveways.

But what is the best ATV for plowing snow?. An ATV for plowing snow should be reliable, low maintenance, and heavy enough to get proper traction in the snow.. We also go through what features you should look for in an ATV for plowing snow.. Yamaha offers a 10-year belt warranty.. Kawasaki ATVs are also well known for their reliability and toughness, just not as good as Honda and Yamaha.. Most ATVs have more than enough power to push loads of snow.. When it comes to snow plowing, the ATV’s weight is even more important than how powerful the ATV is.. Power steering (EPS) makes the ATV much easier to steer which makes it a recommended option to get for a snow plowing ATV.. Utility ATVs are generally geared for lower speeds and are usually a better option for plowing snow.. Those of you that are new to snow plowing or specifically snow plowing with an ATV may be interested in reading this post on how an ATV plow works .

This photonics buyer's guide, belonging to the RP Photonics Encyclopedia, provides a large number of suppliers for laser technology, fiber optics, optical components, and other areas of photonics.

It is more convenient and at the same time safer to use a high quality photonics buyer's guide which is suitable for the technological area.. For some of them, having our ad package, you can even find product descriptions and images; with those, you can check whether it is worthwhile to have a closer look at their websites.. As a supplier, you want to make as many photonics professionals as possible aware of your products and their qualities.. That should usually be the case if you need to reach photonics professionals (e.g. industrial people and scientific researchers) – but maybe not if your target audience is outside the photonics community, e.g. in some special application area.. Some marketing people are very skeptical of buyer's guides.. When being presented e.g. with over 50 suppliers for a product, they will not have the time to check the websites of all suppliers.. Obviously, you don't only want to appear at the top of the list of presented suppliers, but also want to provide a short product description (as you can with our ad package).. Because they see your product description!The most important aspect of an advertising package is probably that you can publish your product descriptions and images , so that users can determine on the spot whether those products should be checked more closely on your website.. Unfortunately, quite a few marketing people simply spend their marketing budget on the same things every year, without ever checking how well they work – for example, by analyzing their server statistics concerning referral traffic.. There are various buyer's guides in the area of photonics , including optics and laser technology – but this is the one next to the famous RP Photonics Encyclopedia – with supplier listings being just a click away from a high quality encyclopedia article!. Whether you are a user or a supplier, or a photonics marketing specialist – check it and you will see: There is no better online marketplace for optics and photonics products than this one!

Videos

1. Ascend FS 10 kayak fish finder mount
(oothe fuxdis)
2. Ascend FS 10 kayak fish finder transducer
(oothe fuxdis)
3. My transducer bracket for Ascend FS 10 Angler kayak.
(goingfishing313)
4. Fishing kayak setup (Ascend fs10) like and subscribe for more !!
(Kayak RodNReel VA Fishing)
5. Ascend FS12 kayak review
(Tyler Perkey)
6. How to install an anchor trolly system on a kayak
(Kayak RodNReel VA Fishing)

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Ray Christiansen

Last Updated: 10/06/2022

Views: 6678

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (49 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Ray Christiansen

Birthday: 1998-05-04

Address: Apt. 814 34339 Sauer Islands, Hirtheville, GA 02446-8771

Phone: +337636892828

Job: Lead Hospitality Designer

Hobby: Urban exploration, Tai chi, Lockpicking, Fashion, Gunsmithing, Pottery, Geocaching

Introduction: My name is Ray Christiansen, I am a fair, good, cute, gentle, vast, glamorous, excited person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.